Nation building in the spotlight at national awards

  • News
  • Nation building in the spotlight at national awards
About this article
Carly Lupton


Carly Lupton


Awards , Events , Projects
Market Insights

Sign Up for Market Trends & Insights


From convention centres to master-planned communities, from heritage overhauls to new hospitals, the nation’s best buildings and brightest talent are once again in the spotlight.

This year, 137 finalists in 20 categories have been named ahead of the 2018 Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards in May.

The awards program, now in its 36th year in partnership with RLB, showcases nation-building projects, innovative solutions and extraordinary leadership in Australia’s property industry.

According to the Property Council’s Chief Executive, Ken Morrison, the awards celebrate the best of the property industry, and underscores the industry’s contribution to nation-building.

‘Together, the property industry creates more jobs than mining and manufacturing combined, and is Australia’s biggest employer, Mr Morrison says.

‘Each of these finalists showcases how we are shaping our cities for the future, and why we are leading the world in terms of sustainability, innovation and people-centric design.’

Among the finalists this year are Sydney’s Barangaroo South – which aims to be the world’s first carbon neutral precinct – and International Convention Centre, which boasts the largest ballroom in Australia.

The $630 million Bendigo Hospital in regional Victoria combines innovative thinking, value-for-money solutions and industry-best engineering and construction in one exceptional public building.

Darwin’s outdoor entertainment precinct at Casuarina Square, the $670 million overhaul of Pacific Fair on the Gold Coast and Chadstone’s $583 million expansion in Melbourne are all squaring off for the Yardi Award for Best Shopping Centre Development.

Perth’s oldest station building, The Goods Shed, is a finalist for its painstaking 18-month heritage restoration, while the conversion of Hobart’s 1899 heritage building at 40 Molle Street development demonstrates the potential of adaptive reuse.

Tonsley in South Australia is a finalist for its transformation from a former automotive manufacturing plant into arguably Australia’s most exciting innovation district. And Horizon in the ACT showcases how the private sector is delivering affordable and liveable housing.

‘We are excited to have finalists from each state and territory this year, which certainly reconfirms the strength of our industry across all jurisdictions,’ Mr Morrison adds.

All development national finalists are in the running for the industry’s most coveted prize – the Rider Levett Bucknall Australian Development of the Year award. Developments are also vying for the State Development of the Year award in their state.

Ten rising stars have also been shortlisted for the du Chateau Chun Award for Future Leader of the Year.

Innovation is recognised in two sub-categories: the Kone Award for Best Development Innovation and the Equiem Award for Best Project Innovation.

Diversity is also recognised in two categories: the Moulis Legal Award for Diversity for larger companies, and the PwC Award for Diversity for companies with less than 250 employees.

National award winners will be announced at the 2018 Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards Gala Dinner, to be held at the ICC Sydney Convention Centre on Friday 11 May 2018. Tickets are now on sale.

For a full list of finalists please visit