We’re back… The 2017 Property Council of Australia RLB Innovation & Excellence Awards

  • News
  • We’re back… The 2017 Property Council of Australia RLB Innovation & Excellence Awards
About this article
Stephen Mee


Stephen Mee


Awards , Events
Market Insights

Sign Up for Market Trends & Insights


Nominations NOW OPEN

This is your chance to showcase your projects and professionals to a State and National audience.

Simply complete the Nomination here to be involved in the most prestigious awards program recognising innovation and excellence across the country.

Awards History

The Innovation and Excellence Awards is one of the most prestigious property awards programs in Australia, promoting excellence in design and innovation in the built environment since 1982.

Since 1982, the Property Council of Australia has been recognising excellence in the built environment through our awards programs.

Throughout this time the awards program has been proudly supported by RLB.

In 1991, the Property Council’s then state-based award programs were augmented by the launch of a national award, to recognise national excellence in the efficient use of capital in a new or refurbished development.

In 2006, the awards program was relaunched as the Innovation and Excellence Awards to more effectively promote and celebrate innovation and leading practice within the property development and investment industries.

This expanded on pre-existing awards to recognise excellence across 12 categories:

  • Office Developments
  • Shopping Centre Developments
  • Emerging Assets
  • Tourism and Leisure Developments
  • Business or Industrial Parks
  • Residential Developments
  • Government Leadership
  • Heritage & Adaptive Reuse
  • Master Planned Communities
  • Mixed Use Developments
  • Public Buildings
  • Sustainable Developments
  • Diversity

An overall winner – the RLB Australian Development of the Year – is also awarded.

To reflect trends in the industry over the years, changes have been made;

2010 – the Retirement Living and Office Fit Out categories were introduced.

2011 – the Sustainable Development category was expanded into two categories including New Buildings and Existing Buildings, and the Emerging Assets category was discontinued.

2012 – the Award for Innovation was introduced.

2015 – the Award for Best Affordable Housing Development was introduced.

2016 – the Award for Diversity was established.

RLB Australian Development of the Year Winners

Since the inception of the national award program in 1991, this prestigious award has been won by some of the nation’s iconic buildings.

1991   Advance Bank Centre, ACT

1992   1 O’Connell Street, Sydney

1993   Carindale Shopping Centre, Brisbane / 120 Collins Street, Melbourne

1994   Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Gold Coast

1995   Governor Phillip Tower, Sydney

1996   Whitford City Shopping Centre, Perth

1997   St Patrick’s Estate, Manly

1998   Network 10 Headquarters, Sydney

1999   Admiralty Quays, Brisbane

2000   Riverside Corporate Park, North Ryde

2001   No.1 Martin Place, Sydney

2002   Aurora Place, Sydney

2003   120 Edward Street, Brisbane

2004   University Square, Melbourne University

2005   30 The Bond, Sydney

2006   Lyell McEwin Hospital Redevelopment, Adelaide

2007   Deutsche Bank Place, Sydney

2008   Riparian Plaza, Brisbane

2009   Rouse Hill Town Centre, NSW

2010   One Shelley Street, Sydney

2011   ANZ Centre, Melbourne

2012   Fairfax Media House, Melbourne

2013   Darling Quarter and Commonwealth Bank Place, Sydney

2014   Brookfield Place, Perth

2015   8 Chifley, Sydney

2016   50 Martin Place, Sydney