Innovation and excellence in mixed use developments

  • News
  • Innovation and excellence in mixed use developments
About this article
Richard Rigby


Richard Rigby


Awards , Events , Projects
Market Insights

Sign Up for Market Trends & Insights


Congratulations to Brookfield Place Sydney in New South Wales, Exchange at Curtin University in Western Australia and Rhodes Central Mixed-use in New South Wales who are in the running for the Hames Sharley Award for Best Mixed Use Development.

BPS is a transformational mixed-use development combining heritage preservation with a rejuvenated transport hub and delivering next-generation commercial and retail space. An innovative solution to a challenging transport amalgam, it was the first real estate Unsolicited Proposal approved by NSW Government and sets a new benchmark for transport-oriented developments.

Rider Levett Bucknall Director Richard Rigby said, “Brookfield Place Sydney is a very impressive project from multiple angles, whether it’s the structural complexity or the heritage overlay, the best-in-class workplace or transport-oriented development.”

This was a 10-year journey of collaboration and commitment to an extraordinary vision. We are proud to have been part of an exemplary project team that brought imagination to life.

Exchange is Curtin University’s first dedicated innovation precinct. It’s a vibrant mixed-use, medium-density and green urban heart designed to combine the qualities of great places around the world with industry and education. Exchange seeks to connect people by being a place to live, work, study or simply enjoy.

Rhodes Central is the $800m first stage of Billbergia’s $2.5billion master planned development, featuring 558 apartments in one 39-storey tower crowned by a heliostat and second 25-storey tower. Located above a 13,181 sqm retail and dining precinct, the project has established a new Town Centre in the heart of Rhodes.

In collaboration with RLB since 1982, the prestigious awards have promoted excellence in design and innovation in the built environment. From 157 eligible finalists, the winners were selected by a high calibre judging panel made up of 14 property specialists and chaired by Adrian Harrington.

Winners will be announced at the 2023 Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards, to be held at the ICC Sydney on Wednesday 23 August 2023.