RLB’s 480 Queen Street wins Qld. Development of the Year

  • News
  • RLB’s 480 Queen Street wins Qld. Development of the Year
About this article
Matt Long


Matt Long


Awards , Events , Projects
Market Insights

Sign Up for Market Trends & Insights


The new premium-grade 55,000 square-metre building, 480 Queen Street Brisbane, has won this year’s Queensland Development of the Year award.

Dexus Property Group/ Dexus Wholesale Property Fund were presented with the Queensland industry’s top accolade at the Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall (RLB) Development of the Year cocktail party on 3 May, 2017.

Developed and built by Grocon, and designed by BVN architects, a key feature is the 1,400 square-metre park with river views on level four, used by tenants and the public. Other notable features include floorplates of up to 2,800 square metres (about twice the size of other premium CBD towers) as well as 600 bike spaces and 45 showers to complement its proximity to the riverside bikeway.

Showcasing Brisbane as a leader in world-class design

David Stewart, Managing Director of RLB in Queensland said, ‘The new public park within a building at 480 Queen Street is an Australian first initiative, that will not only set the building apart, but will showcase Brisbane as a leader in world-class design.’

The 6-star Green Star and 5-star NABERS rated building is home to some of Australia’s most progressive Australian and global businesses, including BHP Billiton, PWC, Regus, Mitsui, Arrive Wealth Management, as well as legal practices Herbert Smith Freehills, Allens, HWL Ebsworth and DLA Piper.

RLB provided independent cost advice to Dexus, with key project team members including David Stewart and Jodie Ablett.

The 2017 Property Council of Australia / RLB Innovation & Excellence Award winners will be announced on Friday 5 May, at a gala dinner at the International Convention Centre, Sydney.

RLB has partnered with the Property Council of Australia to present the Innovation & Excellence Awards program since its inception in 1982.