The 2018 Property Council of Australia RLB Innovation & Excellence Awards

  • News
  • The 2018 Property Council of Australia RLB Innovation & Excellence Awards
About this article
Carly Lupton


Carly Lupton


Awards , Events
Market Insights

Sign Up for Market Trends & Insights


In 2018 Rider Levett Bucknall will partner with the Property Council of Australia to deliver the Innovation and Excellence Awards for a 36th year.

At RLB our vision and values are echoed in these awards, creating value through the skills and passion of our people – challenging the norm, seeking fresh ideas and delivering excellence.

We are very proud to continue our long term partnership with the Property Council of Australia to recognise excellence in the built environment and to herald the achievements showcased in the 2018 awards program.

Last chance to nominate

This is your chance to showcase your projects and professionals to a State and National audience.

Simply complete the Nomination here to be involved in the most prestigious awards program recognising innovation and excellence across the country.

Awards history

The Innovation and Excellence Awards is one of the most prestigious property awards programs in Australia, promoting excellence in design and innovation in the built environment since 1982.

Throughout this time the Property Council of Australia awards program has been proudly supported by RLB.

In 1991, the state-based award programs were augmented by the launch of a national award, to recognise national excellence in the efficient use of capital in a new or refurbished development.

The bronze sculpture ‘Aspiration’ was selected from 12 designs entered into a competition conducted by the Property Council of Australia, Rider Levett Bucknall, and the Art Gallery of NSW.

RLB Australian Development of the Year Winners

Since the inception of the national award program in 1991, this prestigious award has been won by some of the nation’s iconic buildings.

1991   Advance Bank Centre, ACT

1992   1 O’Connell Street, Sydney

1993   Carindale Shopping Centre, Brisbane / 120 Collins Street, Melbourne

1994   Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Gold Coast

1995   Governor Phillip Tower, Sydney

1996   Whitford City Shopping Centre, Perth

1997   St Patrick’s Estate, Manly

1998   Network 10 Headquarters, Sydney

1999   Admiralty Quays, Brisbane

2000   Riverside Corporate Park, North Ryde

2001   No.1 Martin Place, Sydney

2002   Aurora Place, Sydney

2003   120 Edward Street, Brisbane

2004   University Square, Melbourne University

2005   30 The Bond, Sydney

2006   Lyell McEwin Hospital Redevelopment, Adelaide

2007   Deutsche Bank Place, Sydney

2008   Riparian Plaza, Brisbane

2009   Rouse Hill Town Centre, NSW

2010   One Shelley Street, Sydney

2011   ANZ Centre, Melbourne

2012   Fairfax Media House, Melbourne

2013   Darling Quarter and Commonwealth Bank Place, Sydney

2014   Brookfield Place, Perth

2015   8 Chifley, Sydney

2016   50 Martin Place, Sydney

2017   5 Martin Place, Sydney